Child Safety Standards

Disclaimer: This guide provides general information only and is not intended to be legal advice. Organisations should confirm the legal requirements that apply to them and seek legal advice about their specific situation as required.

NOTE: The Child Safe Standards are changing. The new standards will be in effect from 1 July 2022. Find out more information here.

If interacting with children, Victorian organisations are required by legislation to meet 7 Child Safety Standards.

  • Standard 1: Strategies to embed an organisational culture of child safety, including through effective leadership arrangements
  • Standard 2: A Child Safe Policy or Statement of Commitment to Child Safety
  • Standard 3: A Code of Conduct that establishes clear expectations for appropriate behaviour with children
  • Standard 4: Screening, supervision, training and other human resource practices that reduce the risk of child abuse by new and existing personnel
  • Standard 5: Processes for responding to and reporting suspected child abuse
  • Standard 6: Strategies to identify and reduce or remove risks of child abuse
  • Standard 7: Strategies to promote the participation and empowerment of children

Application of each standard must reflect these key principles:

  • Promoting the cultural safety of Aboriginal children
  • Promoting the cultural safety of children from culturally and/or linguistically diverse backgrounds
  • Promoting the safety of children with a disability

By 1 Jan 2017, dance schools must:

  1. Ensure you have policies that address each of the 7 Child Safety Standards.
  2. Ensure that you place a Policy Statement or Commitment to Child Safety Statement on the wall to alert parents to your policies/procedures and how they can gain access to them.
Who to go to with concerns:

The Commission for Children and Young People is the oversight body for the Child Safe Standards from 1 January 2017.